Signal wire shows 12 volts... ignition off

halfawhole again

Original poster
Jul 27, 2023
Georgia
Y'all be gentle now? At least give me the opportunity to give ya a chuckle with a few stupid questions first.
My 03 trailblazer has been giving me fits for months ...again. The first time I was ready to junk it ...until I finally learned how to test a coil pack? It quickly turned to praise after finding 3 weren't up to par. Pretty much gunna keep her forever now!
But she's throwing 1345s...which you don't need a code reader for that...it's pretty apparent... Also a 0340... I'm guessing cause the signal wire reads 12 volts...switched on or off. It does drop down to 1.something when face to face with a rachet... So I can't stress the fact that I'm not a mechanic... But I didn't see anything wrong in that little 2 ft wire... I stripped off the black tape just about to the PCM...stopped where the wires meet from all over at the bottom.
And I'm am suffering from information overload... The internet is a little too full of information...most not pertaining to my current cause? But you have to wade up to your knees in each stream before you find out if it's helping ..
I'm still tripping on oil not being just a lubricant anymore... I'm from the era when the older a car got...the thicker the oil you fed it... This variable timing ... 5 volt sensors...and 0w 20 (cooking oil?) Is really way too much to cram at midnight out in your driveway? I just know...I love my trailblazer... Im finally up out of the head light zone( if you own a car... everybody's headlights are at eye level or more...tired of looking at bumpers and brush guards that are clearly just gunna run right over my ass and not even feel a bump) and the 4.2 delivers adequate horsepower/ mpg...