Am I just being overly paranoid? Or is something still wrong?

Voymom

Original poster
Feb 3, 2012
The saga continues, removed 2 broken bolts in the engine block successfully. They broke when changing the water pump(Bad outer bearing). Well we put the truck back together and started it.

There was the knocking noise again, along with a hissing sound. We turned the truck off, and restarted it. The knocking noise is gone, but something still just doesn't sound right. I still hear a very slight hissing sound. The metal AC thing(I'm still learning so bear with me) the one by the washer fluid was hissing once we turned the truck off too. But the original hissing sound wasn't coming from that, it was coming from the engine.

I know my fan clutch is shit, and we are getting an e-fan kit and PCM4less tune, but would the fan clutch cause those noises? I still have the ticking obviously. I have learned the sounds of the truck on a normal non screwed up state, thanks to roadie's advice on a 4wd issue, and I can tell that it sounds incredibly different. It's not the same as a normal I6 would sound like, but it's not the same sound that I got yesterday with the faulty water pump, I've never heard these noises before in this truck.

Any advice? Should I just take a nap and see if everything chills out, or do I have a right to be concerned?

EDIT- I will be uploading a video just so you guys can listen and maybe offer me either some relief by telling me it sounds okay, or by driving me nuts by telling me you hear something abnormal. And I also wanted to mention, the temp got up to 210 a lot faster than it has been and has not been a tick lower. I will test it out fully with a bit of hard driving when I pick the boys up from school.

Just click the picture, it will take you to the video. I'm to lazy to upload it via youtube!

Thanks!

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
Fix the fan issue. Mine made all sorts of noises as it died.

Voymom

Original poster
Feb 3, 2012
HARDTRAILZ said: