Yet another Trailblazer 4 wheel drive problem thread.

Ejshepherd

Original poster
Feb 11, 2014
Hello everyone

I found my way here reading threads about Trailblazers and found that it seems the best experts including "the roadie" actively posts here. This being said here are my issues/concerns.

I have a 2005 trailblazer ext lt 4.2 engine with 175,000 miles on it. I just purchased it a week ago so I have no maintenance records to share with you. I have read that changing the transfer case fluid is vitally important for these vehicles and this will be one of the first things that will be done next week when I take it have some work and service done on it.

I have not been able to do most of the tests suggested

Offroadtb.com Diagnosing the 4WD System

It is to cold here snow/ice ever where and I have no place to get my trailblazer inside to do these tests.

I did pull fuse #8 and this made no change.

I have read many threads on the 4WD lines of these vehicles and I am not a mechanic and certainly not a expert but I have tried to educate myself the best I could before making this post and I will try to provide as much information I can so the members of this forum can provide the best feedback/suggestions possible.

I have no warning lights of any kind. I had onstar run their diagnostic and there was no issues found. I am sure this is less than ideal as far as system checks go but its what I have at my disposal right now.

When I select 4WH the light flashes then goes solid but the 4WH is not working.

When I select AWD the light flashes goes solid and if traction is lost the AWD in and starts pulling. I have much snow to run this test in. One thing I did notice about the AWD when the AWD has been engaged and under "load" everything seems fine, but when it isn't under load and only after it has been engaged it feels like it is kicking in and out of AWD mode a few times and then everything seems normal.