Valve-train Noise Questions

l008com

Original poster
Feb 19, 2016
Massachusetts
Before I even start, I just want it to be clear that I'm not asking 'how' to fix this stuff. I'm absolutely having my mechanic do anything that needs to be done related to this. I just have a lot of questions and rather than waste his expensive time, I figured I'd waste your free time :2thumbsup:

So when my truck was new-to-me (with something like 110,000K) it ran great. But when it was cold, it would tick a little bit. After it warmed up, the tick would tend to go away. My mechanic thought it sounded like valvetrain noise and suggested trying 0w-30 oil.

- which i haven't done yet, but I'm going to try some next oil change -

However since then, the sound has gotten worse. It doesn't really clear up any more, it's just always there. I have zero engine experience, so to me it sounds like bad piston seals or something serious that will require an engine rebuild, which I really don't want. He's going to take a close look soon but still doesn't think it's anything but valvetrain noise.

So what causes 'ticking' and 'rapping' type sounds from the valvetrian?
How likely is it that some different oil will take care of it?
What would be involved in doing a proper fix on something like this, which I assume means something like taking the valve covers off and replacing.... rockers? rods? other words I haven't seen on TV?

I know I'm wait out of my league when it comes to stuff like this, I'd just like to better understand what's going on with my truck. The main reason being that I have lots of upgrades I want to do to this thing, but I don't want to start spending more money if the engine doesn't have a lot of life left.

Capote

Supporting Donor
Jul 14, 2014
Atlanta, GA