Miss-fire on Cylinder 5

l008com

Original poster
Feb 19, 2016
Massachusetts
I think I've reached the limit of the diagnosing I can do with my limited skillset on automotive stuff. I couldn't get an appointment to have a mechanic look at my truck for 1 to 2 weeks but turns out my mom has an appointment for some minor stuff on her car so she's giving me her appointment at the mechanic she uses so hopefully they can fix it Monday.

Once this starting issue is fixed, then I'll get back to what this post was originally about. Including pics of the spark plugs.

l008com

Original poster
Feb 19, 2016
Massachusetts
Ok the no-start issue is fixed. Turns out it was in fact just a bad starter. And it really did just happen to fail at the exact moment I popped the hood and removed two spark plugs, something I've never done before.

So $820 later and I'm good to go. I'm assuming thats really high but I couldn't do it myself and I couldn't wait 2 weeks to have my regular shop look at it so it is what it is.

At least now I can (A) drive to work when needed and (B) get back to this misfire thing. . .

Last edited:

l008com

Original poster
Feb 19, 2016
Massachusetts
BACK to the misfire. Attached are some pics of my plugs and wires. All pics are of the same two plugs and wires. This is what I meant very early on when I said I don't know what bad plugs look like. Are these plugs perfectly fine or totally worn out? I really don't know.

Also I didn't see any corrosion on the wires, at least on the 2 I checked. Everything looked fine.

Despite that, I'm thinking that unless the consensus is that those plugs are 100% fine, and given the AC Delco plug sale, I should probably just replace all plugs and wires.