Lifting the Trailblazer

daydriver

Original poster
Mar 4, 2012
I have a 2007 2wd Trailblazer and I was just wondering if I could use those z71 89 springs and the bds shocks on the rear as well as the 2" suspension lift on the front? I'm new to this and was just wondering. Want to fit bigger tires.

jham

Nov 20, 2011
daydriver said:
I have a 2007 2wd Trailblazer and I was just wondering if I could use those z71 89 springs and the bds shocks on the rear as well as the 2" suspension lift on the front? I'm new to this and was just wondering. Want to fit bigger tires.

With 89 springs you will need the extra weight of a bumper and skids or it will be a harsh ride same with Z71 springs in the rear harsh ride. If you want larger tires you will need spacers to clear the upper ball joint with any tire taller than 30.5 inches. For a lift just check out MarkMC his lift is great. I have his 3 inch suspension and with 83 springs up front it was a little rough with being 2wd and the less weight up there. Adding a steel bumper and skid from Barton MD made it sag about half a inch but improved the harshness of it with a 2wd I would go over 85's but this is my opinion from my experiences

djthumper

Administrator
Nov 20, 2011
North Las Vegas
daydriver said:
I agree with what JHam has already stated, if you understand what he is saying.

Your comment on z71 89 springs makes me believe that you think they are the same springs. 89 springs are the front springs that you can get to handle heavier weight up front. The Z71 springs Are take offs from Tahoes and Avalanches. You don't need either spring for bigger tires. You only need a lift and spacers to fit bigger tires and the spacers are only needed if you want to go bigger than 30.6" as JHam has stated.

Short Bus

Dec 2, 2011
djthumper said:
I agree with what JHam has already stated, if you understand what he is saying.