Help for a Newb: Changing Oil

Border Walker

Original poster
Oct 13, 2012
Yes. I am that much of a newbie and sheltered. Warned so in my intro thread.

Anyway, just got my TB back from the shop. along with fixing my Power Steering, I had asked them to change my oil. They neglected to change my oil though, and I'm getting tired of bringing my car in every other day. Since Oil changes I've been told are supposed to be simple, I want to just do it myself.

I normally get it changed with Synthetic (Mobil 1 As I understand it?) but beyond that I know nothing. So, from a complete newb standpoint...

How does one go about it?
What do I need?
Where are the caps and such in an 03 TB LS?
What Synthetic oil is best?
--Does Synthetic also actually get you mroe than the 3000 supposed miles?
What does one do with the old oil?
And anything else I should know but forgot?

I'll be checking the owner's manual to be sure but wanted tips from others as well.:confused:

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
A local mentor to show you the ropes would be better than folks on an Internet forum, but there are plenty of youtube videos that can show you the basics good for ANY automotive platform. FInd a buddy from school or work. Buy them beer if you're both old enough.

Your local parts store will have the right oil filter wrench to help you get it off. I use the end-cap style. We don't have room for the strap-style with the handle that extends to the side. Then you'll need some extensions for your socket set. You *do* have a socket set?

Also buy some ramps to drive up on, and a drain pan/collection unit, at your local Harbor Freight or parts store.

Neoprene gloves to keep your hands cleaner, shop towels to absorb any spills, and your locacl parts store should accept and recycle your used oil out of the collection unit.