Garage door spring picking up AM radio signal!

Hypnotoad

Original poster
Dec 5, 2011
My in-laws live right next to an AM radio antenna and they asked me if I could track down and fix a random radio signal they were picking up in the house since I'm an electrician. I don't know what I could do about it, since I was over there anyway I thought I'd check it out. They said that they were pretty sure the signal was being picked up by the copper pipes in their basement. I thought the whole thing sounded just crazy, and I'm sure I even gave them a few looks like they were crazy. I've heard of people picking up radio signals on things like speakers, guitar amps and telephones, but never from pipes! So, I wasn't surprised when I didn't hear anything in their basement. They said the sound comes and goes.

That's when my mother in-law says follow me. I follow her to the garage and she says stand right here. Sure as shit, I could hear the local AM radio station next door coming from the garage door helper spring. She goes on to explain that they've heard it for years out in the garage and they've learned to live with it, but they recently started picking up the signal inside the house. They were getting real annoyed with the sound inside the house and wanted something done about it. The first thing I asked was if anything had recently been added, repaired or changed and nothing has, except their dishwasher quit working around the same time. I wonder if the radio station changed something on their end that made this start happening?

Has anyone ever heard of this happening? Is there anything that can be done? I tried Googling but didn't come with any solutions. There are plenty of people out there that pick up radio signals in their random electronics, but nothing this bizarre. I never did hear the sound inside the house, but the garage door spring definitely made a believer out of me.

blazinlow89

Jan 25, 2012