Drivetrain Noise (Video)

PProph

Original poster
Dec 7, 2011
03 TB LTZ I6, 200,000 kms.

I tried a thread in the technical discussion but I've sinced narrowed it down to being something in my drivetrain, hopefully not in the transmission itself. Here is the noise I'm hearing (I was able to get good clear audio on it driving at night by some trees to echo the sound).

[video=youtube;HjyD6V0b4No]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjyD6V0b4No&feature=youtu.be[/video]

The sound really kicks in after 5 seconds or so.
I've been trying to figure this for almost 2 weeks now.

More common when I accelerate, but not exclusive to acceleration.
More common at lower speeds, but audible sometimes at higher speed.
Coming from underneath, somewhere around the middle of the vehicle.
There is no play on the main rear driveshaft so I assume the rear diff and U-Joints to be fine, but I'm not a mechanic so I won't completely disagree if I'm told to check em again or a different way.
The front driveshaft has no horizontal or vertical play that I can notice, but when I spin it (disengaged) I am hearing what could be a similar noise where it connects into the transfer case. Or it could be a normal noise that is completely unrelated, I don't have enough experience in these matters.
I've read that a bad parking pawl can cause a ratcheting noise but I would presume that I would be noticing other problems (like park not working) if that were shot/going.
I do have a leaking front dif (I'm pretty sure), but the noise sounds like it's coming from further much further back than that.

The noise IS getting worse, and with winter approaching I'd like to knock this thing down sooner rather than later. I'm hoping it's just something I can fix rather than a larger transmission problem, but don't worry I don't shoot messengers.

Please help, you all haven't let me down yet! Please post me a solution or ideas or send me off to fetch data some way or another, I need some help to help myself!

budro6968