Bouncy Front-End (Belltech Adjustable Lift Struts)

mikeinDE

Original poster
Jan 4, 2012
I am running the SMAXX 2.5" Lift with an extra .5" spacer in the front. And in the rear I have the SMAXX 2" lift spacers. Had that lift on it for about 2 years now (Before I go any further, I am not that technical, nor DIY, and have a local shop do my work). I just got the Z71 rear springs installed last week with BellTech adjustable front struts. Looks like the struts have four .5" spacers that COULD provide another 2" of lift. Not sure how many of the spacers they ended up using but it appears to be sitting up higher. Looks great, love the stance, already see my gas mpg kicking the crapper. Some concerns though, I live in an apartment complex, and the parking is such that you have to drive over a curb, when I go over the curb straight-wheeled I get a nasty bounce. Haven't noticed any said "nasty bounces" on the street. I have the well-expected hard hits on any little potholes or whatever. I guess my main question is.....Should I worry about the bounce? I am not worried about personal inconveniences or (for lack of a better word) discomfort/ride quality. My main concern is safety. I wanna make sure what I have is safe and also not harmful to the truck. I don't do any offroading, I am guessing if I did, this would definitely be the wrong setup.

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
BellTech are drop struts. Your shop installed them with a SMAXX spacer? Did you get any advice here first? I would have just slapped in Bilstein aftermarket shocks and not messed around with BellTech. Why did you buy them specifically?

Got any pictures of what they installed and what parts they gave you back that they didn't install? I think the BellTech spacers are to reduce the amount of drop they give you if you don't want the entire 2". No lift.

mikeinDE

Original poster
Jan 4, 2012
the roadie said: