Big 3 Upgrade + 250AMP HO Alternator

BoldAdventure

Original poster
Jun 28, 2012
NOTE: I am not an electrical engineer, so don't take my information as such. I know a number of you are far more knowledgeable in this area than myself. This is just a write up on what I did, and not meant to be an explicit guide. I know that there are some videos on this. I posted this on ORTB, and thought I'd re-share here.

BACKGROUND:

I know alot of us members have quite a few electrical components running off factory wiring and our factory alternator. Hid's, Amps, Winches, Aftermarket HU's, Off Road Lights, Power inverters, Refrigerators, CB's, Ham Radios, Laptops, etc. Our vehicle’s stock electrical systems were designed for such---stock electrical. When you start adding things like audio equipment (amplifiers), aftermarket lights, etc, you are increasing the demand put on your electrical system.

Most of the time stock wiring is right around 8 awg (give or take). It’s simply not designed for the extra current draw required by aftermarket items. Let’s use a garden hose as an analogy to electrical wiring. If you have a long, thin garden hose, the flow of water through it will be much less than a short, thick hose. Compare a 100-ft, 5/8” diameter garden hose to a 1-ft long, 6” diameter section of water supply PVC pipe. The flow will be much greater through the shorter, thicker section (less pressure). The same goes for electrical systems. The larger and shorter your wiring, the less resistance to the flow of current.