Anyone ever had a problem with spark knock?

Biff85ta

Original poster
Jun 4, 2012
My wifes 04 Rainier with the lm4 5.3 spark knocks pretty heavy on regular but does not on premium. Did I miss something and have just been putting the wrong fuel in or is there maybe something else I should be looking at? I have no lights on and do not as of yet have anything to scan with.

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
There are knock sensors that advise the PCM to deal with low octane fuel. I have no experience with modern engine knock reduction, but before electronic everything you also had to make sure you had clean cylinders without carbon build-up to generate hot spots that could promote preignition. I'd try a Seafoam treatment through the brake boost vacuum hose to see if you can remove some carbon.

How many miles, and what other maintenance history do you have? It's all possibly relevant.

Biff85ta

Original poster
Jun 4, 2012
135k and unfortunately I know nothing of the cars past. We bought it about two months ago and it nearly burnt on the way home and then it sat for almost a month waiting on a new harness from the dealer I purchased it from. It doesn't do it at all cold. It actually surprises me to get knock and makes me wonder if maybe someone has maybe put some sort of tune on it.

n0kfb

Dec 8, 2011
I suggest testing the knock sensor(s). You should not need to run premium fuel on our trucks.

-- Dan Meyer :coffee:

Pittdawg

Dec 5, 2011
Biff85ta said:
135k and unfortunately I know nothing of the cars past. We bought it about two months ago and it nearly burnt on the way home and then it sat for almost a month waiting on a new harness from the dealer I purchased it from. It doesn't do it at all cold. It actually surprises me to get knock and makes me wonder if maybe someone has maybe put some sort of tune on it.

What nearly burnt, the engine? :eek: I would have taken that heap right back if that was the case...

n0kfb

Dec 8, 2011