Any experiences/comments with oil pan drain valves?

Bad Bowtie

Original poster
May 15, 2013
I was thinking of getting one of these (see pic below). Anyone have any positive or negative things to say about oil pan drain valves? I've never used one before and don't really know if there's any negatives of installing one vs. just taking the drain pan bolt off each time. Thanks for any comments.

Attachments

• drain valve.jpg
    drain valve.jpg
    31.3 KB · Views: 92

STLtrailbSS

Dec 4, 2011
I dont know I see it as an addition of a failure point to save 2 minutes .....ya know?

AtlWrk

Dec 6, 2011
STLtrailbSS said:
I dont know I see it as an addition of a failure point to save 2 minutes .....ya know?

:iagree: Especially for something you only do twice a year.

I can think of a few scenarios (e.g. draining HOT oil, strong winds) that would make this useful, but the risk/benefit doesn't seem worth it IMHO.

Dec 4, 2011
I have used the Fram Sure Drain for several years on all of my vehicles and given some as gifts to son and son-in-law. They work well, you can drain without tools and no issues at all with respect to leaking. And yes I only change oil once a year (Amsoil and filter), but it is nice to get in and get out quickly.

The only problem is that Fram discontinued them. The last one I got was on Ebay. This the only thing Fram makes that I would buy, but they do work. Haven't tried the one you show so couldn't comment on how it works.

CaptainXL

Dec 4, 2011
A drain valve doesn't sound like a bad idea until you look at where the drain plug is. It's basically at the lowest point under the engine. Which would mean the shield would need to come off. On top of that you are just asking to hit something underneath and ripping it off. Just not a good idea to add any type of extension under there. Another reason to not get a drain valve is to facilitate a quick evacuation of the oil. The oil stream will help rid of any solids on the bottom of the oil pan better.