04 TB EXT and POOR gas mileage

convincer253

Original poster
Apr 4, 2012
Am a newbie here as i just learned of this site from"the other site"...thanks....I have tried every gas tip from the other site and still am only getting 14 mpg on the highway...what gives....Is there something im missing...What do i need to do to get the MPG up to where they need to be or should be....vehicle has 85000 on it and is my wifes and she drives like a granny but still cant get the mileage that everyone else claims to be getting...Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciaeted......thanks

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
A bad thermostat or partially clogged cat could cause low mileage. Does your temp gauge sit right at 12 o'clock? Ever have a SES light on? Plug change is due at 100K miles - you might consider doing those and changing the upstream O2 sensor soon if they haven't already been done.

convincer253

Original poster
Apr 4, 2012
Have changed the t stat already and yes its straight up on the gauge....Plugs have been changed also with the 41-103's...Havent changed the cat convert or the upstream O2sensor...Is the Os sensor a hard change...got a part # for the sensor and maybe a how to or is pretty straight forward...take out..install new one and plug in...I think on the other site i read something about this sensor and there was some debate about which sensor to use...so if you can...let me know the brand and part# of the sensor and i can try that first...Im sure the cat convert is a pretty costly fix...correct....thanks

convincer253

Original poster
Apr 4, 2012
Have never has a SES light either...not sure what it is...but have never seen it on the dash ....

Voymom

Feb 3, 2012
I have an EXT envoy 03 and I get about the same gas mileage as you do on the highway. It sucks hardcore, but I think it's something we need to get used to lol

RayVoy

Nov 20, 2011
19 to 20 driving at 60 to 70 mph should be what your seeing.