04 Rainier Binding/Vibration during slow speed turns

jeffro312

Original poster
Oct 4, 2012
East Haven,Ct
Ok i am new to this site. My names Jeff. I own a 04 Rainier awd.

Otherday i got in my car to go home from work. Upon turning out of the parking spot, the truck started to shake alot. Sort of like i was driving over a grate of some sort or the wake up grid on side of highways.

i am no mechanic nor do i have money to pay one but i did some research and this is what ive done/checked

Checked the transfer case fluid - was Blue but foggy (replaced fluid with the dealer fluid auto trak 2)

Checked level of differential fluid (front + Rear) - full (just changed it 4-6 months ago)

Transmission fluid is good flushed same time Differential was done (when i say flush 3 drain and fills)

Prior to this happening i did not have any noticable symptoms
possible symptoms are: vibration at idle while in any gear park,nuetral,reverse,drive etc (assumed to be motor mounts)
a clicking noise while coasting once i hit gas it disapeared. (assumed was a warped rotor bought them on ebay drilled slotted no namers) have noticed this clicking is gone now.

Read someewher back on trailvoy about 4wd tests to jack front tire and try spinning it. Although i do not think that applies to my awd system did it and results are tire does not spin if other is on ground when both in air tire spins other spins reverse.

Driveshafts have no play in them while all 4 are on ground. Noticed if i jack front end off ground i can wiggle the front shaft 1/4 inch either way makes a clunking noise in transfer case unable to replicate when tires on ground.

sorry for such a long post just trying to save time .....

am i ok to drive like this i have no Cel lights of any kind.

any idea's on how to further try and diagnose problems thank you in advance for any information you are all very smart individuals and have used your how-to's from trailvoy a few times thanks

jeffro312

Original poster
Oct 4, 2012