lifting

deonlj2

Original poster
Jan 21, 2012
I'm new to the Trailblazer ownership group, since my wife and I bought an 05 Ext about a week ago. A guy I work with told me about this site and I have found some interesting stuff so far. I have been thinking about leveling it out and have been looking at a few different lifts. I have also noticed some say you have to use spacers and some don't. I was just wanting to get some input on maybe which lift and if anyone can give some input on why some say to use spacers and others (rough country) say you dont need them. Any help would be great, thanks.

jrSS

Dec 4, 2011
It all depends on what tire size and wheels u wanna put on. I have no intentions of putting a lift on (I am going the other way DOWN) but after reading time after time on posts about lifts i kinda get an idea that's the way u wanna find out if u need spacers or not.

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
Check this out first:
OffRoad TB - View topic - The Complete Lifts and Suspension Accessories Thread

And the "will it fit" tire sticky in the Offroad forum here:
Off-Road

Then we need to discuss the confusion about the term "spacers." Some folks use it to mean the disks that you put in the suspension to gain height (under or over the rear coil spring) or (inside or on top of the front strut). And it can also mean disks with threaded studs that you use to move the wheels and tires away from the center of the vehicle.

On our suspension design, especially the steering knuckle, the upper ball joint mount is EXCEEDINGLY close to the edge of the tire. If you want larger tires, above a certain size, you will need wheel spacers to obtain more clearance.

If you just want more ground clearance or to level the front without lifting the rear, you need suspension spacers of some amount to get the front to sit higher.

All depends on your intentions - appearance, offroading (mild or aggressive) or whatever.