Z71 springs and Markmc up front

snowyredenvoy

Original poster
Dec 5, 2011
Hey,
I am new to Gmtnation, I am looking to get Marks spacer up front and Get the rear Z71 Tahoe springs. This should be close to leveling out my Truck. This will also allow me to keep my Monroe sensa shocks that I just bought. Haha Is this a decent setup? I am not going to be doing major off raoding but watn the capability too. How are the Z71's? Are they very stiff compared to stock? IF you could rate there stiffness compared to Stock from 1-5 What would it be? Thanks for all your help! Also Doing these mods to have stiffer rear shocks to tow about 1000lbs of sleds (two). Thanks
Trent:biggrin:

snowyredenvoy

Original poster
Dec 5, 2011
Mods please move to off road Sorry

v7guy

Dec 4, 2011
which lift?

what front springs are you using? stock 81 or 83?

The Z71 springs are more stiff than stock and you're going to experience the rear skating over bumps rather than wallowing in them unless you have a load. Especially with a lift spacer.

What front springs are you using? this will also affect the behavior of the rear.

we could use some more info.

djthumper

Administrator
Nov 20, 2011
North Las Vegas
I would rate the Z71s as a 5 they are a very firm ride and since stock the truck should be able to handle 5500 lbs with a 3.42 rearend. And you are only talking about towing 1000 lbs and not much off-roading. I would just go with the lift and not waste the money on the Z71s.

Before I put the Z71s on the trailer I haul quite a bit would drop the rear almost 6 inches now it is almost half of that.

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
You dont seem to NEED z71's and I honestly hated the ride with them. I only used them for the lift until I got my other coils. You will be fine with just marks original full kit with what you are telling us.

snowyredenvoy

Original poster
Dec 5, 2011