Won't go above 35 mph

Russ

Original poster
Jan 4, 2012
My daughter came home the other day and said her 2002 Trailblazer wouldn't go above 35 MPH. The service engine light was on, so I checked the codes. Got one that said the transmission was slipping. I checked the transmission fluid and it was WAY low! I filled the tranny with fluid and took it for a test drive. I had no problems getting it up to 45 MPH in the neighborhood.

Came home last night and said the car wouldn't go above 35 MPH again. Checked the codes again but all I got was P1482 (Fan clutch, fan clutch relay). Reading more about this, the article said it could affect Vehicle speed sensor, Transmission fluid temperature sensor.

Could this be causing her problem?

Thanks in advance.

Russ

Ed H

Oct 18, 2012
I have no personal experience with the fan clutch (yet), but my money is on YES. I have read the fan clutch can cause numerous issues, and if it is throwing a code it needs to be replaced. At least yours is throwing a code. Many fail without a code.

Replacement is not bad after you remove the fan bolt from the waterpump. I highly recommend the following method. GET A CHAIN. I used the chain from my kids swings. Remove one bolt from the water pump pulley, insert throught a link on the chain, and then tighten back into place. Wrap chain around the wheel hoist bracket and secure. Now get a 1-7/16 open-end wrench of a large cresent wrench and loosen that big bolt. I had to use a breaker bar and a shitload of muscle. It was on there unbelieveably tight! Many 4-letter words. Once removed, it is downhill and very easy.