Windshield Washer Pump Replacement Procedure

BeMyWheels

Original poster
Dec 14, 2011
Hi all, fellow TV.com member just signed up here! I am having a problem with my front windshield washer and I am pretty confident it is due to a bad pump. I started noticing last year that the front washer only worked intermittently. Now it just doesn't work at all anymore. The rear washer works fine but when I activate the front one I hear no sound coming from the front pump. I swapped the fuses between the front and rear, but the rear washer still worked with the fuse of the front washer, so it is not a bad fuse. I was able to remove the airbox, but how do I get the bad pump out? There is a hose connected to the pump. When I pull off the hose the windshield fluid starts flowing out of the pump and all over the engine compartment. Is there a way I can avoid that? I would really appreciate it if you could give me a procedure on how to do this - pictures would be a plus too. I am not very good with working on cars yet but I am trying to learn. Unfortunately my search didn't yield good results.

Oh and also, I am going to get the ACDelco part (10386722). Is there any reason I should avoid this and get a different part?

Thanks!

djthumper

Administrator
Nov 20, 2011
North Las Vegas
The only way that I know of to avoid the spillage is to drain it before you work on it.

Welcome to the Nation!

Wooluf1952

Nov 20, 2011
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
:iagree:

The service manual say to remove the fluid reservoir to change the pumps.

You may be able to do the R/R without removing the reservoir. Your call.

However, before changing the pump, make sure you are getting power to it.

Just because the fuse is good, doesn't mean the wires ( + and - ) are good.

Also, check for a good connection at pump connector.

BeMyWheels

Original poster
Dec 14, 2011
Thanks for your inputs!