What vehicle next?

PProph

Original poster
Dec 7, 2011
I've been driving an 03 Trailblazer as my daily for 8 years now, we're shopping for something new. We're looking for similar characteristics, although I know body on frame isn't really an option anymore, which is fine.

We're looking at the 11-15-ish years/price point, and we're still looking for the larger SUV that isn't a full size.

The Acadia is one we'd look at but the 2nd row captain chair/buckets are a deal breaker for personal reasons.

We drove the in-law's 2011 Explorer limited a number of times and loved the space. They now have a 2016 that doesn't seem nearly as roomy, does anyone know when that changed?

Gonna go look at Grand Cherokee and Pathfinder today. Don't like the look of the Traverse or Durango. Are there any other makes/models we should be looking at?

The reason I posted this in the TB section is that we've loved my Trailblazer, and we're looking for a lot of the same style characteristics, but better road safety, mileage, features etc.

Also the vehicle needs to be mud and snow capable due to where we live. It's not muddy all the time, but when it is it's nasty.

TollKeeper

Supporting Donor
Dec 3, 2011
Brighton, CO
Buick Enclave and the GMC Acadia are at the top of my lists, you just have to be religious with transmission services.

A rear bench is available on the Acadial, although the captains chairs are more common.. I really like the HUD, and some of the other appointments. The Traverse and Acadia and Enclave are all the same vehicle.

Bench Acadia here on ebay for reference...
eBay Acadia SLT

The Enclave also has the option for rear bench, but they are extremely rare (I couldnt find one, but I have rented one before).

I also like the Hyundai Veracruz for interior appointments and comfort. But they kinda look odd/off.