What if the cpas isn't my issue? Then what?

Voymom

Original poster
Feb 3, 2012
So I haven't put the new cpas in just yet. Mat works long hours on night shift and im just not secure enough to attempt it on my own yet. I have been racking my brain over the trucks stuttering and stalling issue for a while now, it has officially died on me while driving down the highway, and that was pretty unnerving to say the least. Anyways I have noticed that the stalling and stuttering happens when there is a lot of moisture in the air, rain, humidity etc...I just have this gut feeling that it isn't the cpas but since im still learning mechanics I cant put my finger on it. If putting the new cpas in does not clear up my problem, where do I go from there with my diagnostics?

Voymom

Original poster
Feb 3, 2012
CaptainXL said:
Have you replaced the ignition switch yet?

No we haven't. Haven't had any other "ignition switch" antics so it honestly never crossed my mind. I have no codes to go off of either. I was basically told that if the cpas did not cure the symptoms "good luck" finding out what it is as long as no codes are being thrown im pretty much screwed in diagnostics. Im going to buy me a cheap wannabe tech 2 after Christmas to see if it can point me in some direction. I know this probably wouldnt worry most owners, but I need to think about my kids' safety.

If it stalls on icy roads, the way people drive around here I will be in deep doo doo.

CaptainXL

Dec 4, 2011
The factory ignition switch is known to cause similar problems in these vehicles. It's pretty much become a "once every five years" preventative maintenance task. It can cause a whole host of electrical gremilins. Think of it this way. What parts wear out in a vehicle? The ones that move. I would not buy a tech2. Your going to spend a lot more money on that than if you just shotgunned all the sensors on the vehicle.

Besides the total combined knowledge of all of us is infinitely more than a tech 2.

gmcman