Water in trunk - Help

MichEnvoyGuy

Original poster
Dec 3, 2011
08 Saab 9-7x.

Have had a problem with water filling up the storage area in the trunk area for years when it rains or washing the truck. The water appears to be coming from somewhere around the trunk/trunk seal/window (I cannot figure out where exactly) but I figured it was from the seal around the license plate frame, although the amount of water coming in is kinda alarming.

- Fair enough - The liftgate was starting to rust, and I had anticipated replacing it anyways...

So, I REPLACED the entire rear liftgate with an exact replacement I have been storing in my garage for 7-8 years off a low mileage 9-7x. I mean, the liftgate is just in mint condition, really. EXCEPT I still have the leak and its filling my storage area :Banghead:

I think I have ruled out the liftgate itself for the most part, so what am I missing here?!

Last edited:

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
Hmm, you would need to do some leak testing. I would remove the inner panels on the lift gate, and sit inside the trunk area with the gate closed. Have someone pour water, or use a hose, in various areas around the gate, and you watch for water intrusion.

Initial guess would be the main rubber seal for the gate, not sure if you can beef it up like you can with the 4 door seals, I know there was a write up on doing that on the OS. Possibly the grommet for the 3rd brake light, or the boot for the liftgate wiring harness. :undecided:

Reactions: Matt and Mooseman

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
Another thought, when you've had this issue in the past, has anything else been wet too? Headliner, trunk area carpeting on the right side? If not, then that may rule out the grommet and boot, as water getting in there would definitely get into the headliner first, and leak down the passenger side D pillar to get to the floor. :twocents:

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area