throttle (might be an) issue

sunrisor

Original poster
Dec 3, 2014
I'm a newbie to this forum, and this is my first post.

I just bought a '08 Envoy Denali, 5.3L V8, with 94k miles. I chose this because it has the same drivetrain as our '03 Yukon XL. However, this has an annoying lag in the throttle. I press on the pedal, maybe 5% down before it starts moving. There is a definite .5-1 second pause before it moves. I don't notice this at speed.

Our Yuke has instant throttle response. So, this is a little wierd.

So...is this the result of 5 years worth of technology? Or is there something wrong?

Any help would be appreciated...thanks for looking.

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
:tiphat: Welcome to the forum

Sounds like the usual torque management doing what it does. A lot of us hate the lack of throttle response as well, the usual recommendation is to get the PCM tuned, and have the torque management reduced. PCMofNC is a good place to start, they can answer any questions you have on their services.

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
If you mean you tap the pedal and it delays for a second before rpm's rise then it's just a random delay. Not sure if it was intentionally designed to delay like that or not. Our '03 Silverado 5.3 and our '04 TB EXT does it.

Some company makes a thing that you plug into the throttle pedal wires that eliminates the delay, not sure if it's offered for the 360/370 platform or not though.

If you're saying that when you press the pedal a little and nothing happens until you press it further almost as if it's an old cable-style (think carburetor) pedal that has slack in the cable, pretty much the same thing. Both of the vehicles I mentioned also had that. Not sure why though.

Also, welcome to GMTNation! :tiphat:

sunrisor

Original poster
Dec 3, 2014