Sup

Raditude

Original poster
Oct 6, 2012
Sup everyone,

I am a new Envoy owner. I came here for info on how to replace the driver heat actuator motor.

When not working on my Envoy, I am a student, and freelance as an independent filmmaker, graphic artist, and photographer. I purchased the envoy because I will soon be taking an internship at a television station, that is several hundred miles away. Rather than commuting twice a week, or getting a hotel room for 3 or 4 days a week for 5 months, I decided to get a hotel on wheels.

I researched several vehicles, and finally decided I'd like an Envoy Denali or Yukon Denali. A Yukon would be ridiculous on gas, so I narrowed it down to an Envoy. I searched the internet for a few months, before finding the right Envoy.

I have the "Go Big or Go Home" mentality. I wanted a Black Denali, but couldn't find one with low miles in my price range. I kept searching, and low and behold, a dealer in Indianapolis (about 40 miles away) had something that looked promising. A 2002 Black GMC Envoy, with Leather Seats and Sunroof. Basically, if they made Envoy Denalis in 2002, this would have been one. It had 137,000 miles... a little high, but not horrible. The pics looked great, the Carfax and Autocheck checked out. I gave them a call, and he said they wanted $4,900 for it. I had checked the value on NADA, and it was worth $7,500. I scheduled to go check it out the next day.

When I got up there, I checked it out. Everything looked great, except the tires will need replaced in about 6-8 months. We got in to test it. It was cold that morning, so the salesman turned the heat on. It just wasn't warming up. I mentioned it, and he said he was roasting. We fiddled with the dual climate controls, and realized the actuator wasn't working. We turned the vent off, and brought it back.