Starter Motor 5.3, is failure electrical or mechanical

Denali n DOO

Original poster
May 22, 2012
Starter motor, something I've never worked on before. Mine started making noise last Thursday. Most of the time now I hear a tick tick tick when its cranking, almost like an arcing sound. In the video it can be faintly heard the first start up. The other sound is like when you try to start a car that is already running, this can be heard in the second start up. It seems that it wants to keep cranking after I release the key. I read here that is the pcm trying to complete the start. After the video It went on a little longer trying to start after key released. On 2 occasions there was a really loud bang like a hammer on steel, maybe the starter gear hitting the flywheel?

I popped that little cover and looked at the flywheel teeth, they looked okay of the ones I could see. I did notice a thin shiny edge on each side of the teeth that I'm guessing is normal wear, a few shavings near that hole that I also guess is normal. When looking up at the starter I can see through a slot in the casing that gear piece that moves out to the flywheel. Should its movement be smooth to engage and smooth when it comes back? When watching mine move it seems to be a little shaky as it moves. I also noticed while under that I have a rear engine oil leak again. Some drips were hanging off the starter motor bolt so I guess it dripping on the starter.

The original starter was replaced under warranty at around 33,000 miles with part # 88861935, part cost on invoice $466.95. Mileage now is 113,000 miles.

I called GM parts and gave my vin to see what part it calls for. Parts guy says OEM part # 89018123 @ $476.50 or a Delco part # 88864922 @ $250.00. I asked why it didn't call for the OEM part # 88861935, he tells me it was replaced with the Delco part # at $250.

Would any of these symptoms mean the starter is failing or should I have someone test the electrical part of the system.