Spark plug torque

slamfire

Original poster
Apr 9, 2013
I'm afraid I over torqued my new plugs on my I6 '04 Trailblazer. I used a 3/8 drive spark plug socket and gripped around the head of the rachet with the extension in-between my index and middle fingers to simulate using a stubby rachet. I didn't try to torque them down super hard, but my wrists are pretty strong and this is my first time doing this, thus I don't have a good feel for ft. lbs. Do I say forget it and let them ride, or do I go out and get a torque wrench and torque it down to 16 ft. lbs. like it says? Thanks in advance.

triz

Apr 22, 2013
Harbor freight sells a Torque wrench for like 10 bucks with the coupon in any car magazine. If you don't have one "hand tight" is what your looking for.

CaptainXL

Dec 4, 2011
The service manual says 13 ft/lbs or 156 in/lbs. Clean the threads by shooting some carb cleaner (without straw) down the hole for a more accurate torque.

I got the $10 Harbor Freight in/lb torque wrench a month ago. Works great.

TangoBravo

Dec 5, 2011
CaptainXL said:
The service manual says 13 ft/lbs or 156 in/lbs. Clean the threads by shooting some carb cleaner (without straw) down the hole for a more accurate torque.

I got the $10 Harbor Freight in/lb torque wrench a month ago. Works great.

I usually use the anti seize as a lubricant for accurate torque.

CaptainXL

Dec 4, 2011
TangoBravo said:

I never use antiseize on spark plugs. I have heard it will change the heat rating of the plugs. I've never had problems getting plugs out of any engine. And I have worked on engines that were very old and rusted.

In the military we learned that adding any type of lubricant to a threaded section will throw torque readings off.

That's why I recommended to clean the threads prior to torqueing.

NGK recommends: