oil leak advice

fullcircle

Original poster
Apr 1, 2012
OK we took our 03 Envoy 4.2 on a 9 hour drive. When we arrived I noticed a couple of oil spots on the driveway. Never had a oil leak before. Look at the engine on the lift I am seeing oil around the transfer case and where it goes into the oil pan. Is this area known to leak? Also looks wet at the end of the transfer case where it hooks to the half shaft. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks Tom

woody79

Dec 3, 2011
fullcircle said:
OK we took our 03 Envoy 4.2 on a 9 hour drive. When we arrived I noticed a couple of oil spots on the driveway. Never had a oil leak before. Look at the engine on the lift I am seeing oil around the transfer case and where it goes into the oil pan. Is this area known to leak? Also looks wet at the end of the transfer case where it hooks to the half shaft. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks Tom

I'm no mechanic, but the seal on the front diff be leaking (drivers side?)? Again I am no mechanic sorry.

gmcman

Dec 12, 2011
Does the oil by chance have a blue tint to it? Have you ever changed your transfer case fluid?

Could be blown back by the wind but hard to say, could be a trans leak.

Wyle

Dec 4, 2011
Just as a point of reference, that thing between the drivers half shaft and the oil pan is your front differential. The transfer case is attached to the rear of the transmission.

Yes, the drivers half shaft seal is a known leak spot. Mine started leaking last fall. Regulator has an article on replacing a passenger half shaft. Same thing applies to the drivers side. The seal is a dealer only item (about $17). Bearing is $10 and worth having on hand before you get it all apart. One thing he doesn't mention is separating the upper control arm from the spindle so you have room to pull the half shaft out (his was broken and already MIA).

fullcircle

Original poster
Apr 1, 2012