Anybody got pointers on tearing down a 5.3 to fix a stuck lifter?

HizAndHerz

Original poster
Oct 28, 2013
My 2006 9-7x has been down for 5 months due to cylinder 1 AFM lifter collapsing. I tried flushing the engine and squirting Berryman carb cleaner down the push rod, but the lifter is dead. So, I am seriously considering doing the work myself to replace all of the AFM lifters. Has anyone on the forum done this before or do does anyone have links, videos, etc. that shows details tearing down a 5.3 engine while it is in the truck? I consider myself an average shade tree mechanic. I own 6 vehicles and have performed all my own auto work for the last 25 years. I've rebuilt a couple of engines and automatic transmissions. So, I'm not an expert, but I haven't run into any repair situation I couldn't handle, knock wood.

I've put together a "possible" parts list. I may not have to replace everything below. For instance, the cam, pushrod and rocker arm may be fine. Everything comes up to around $1000.

Lifters AFM (8) (GM 12619820) $313.52
Camshaft (GM 12569525) $156.15
Oil pressure sensor (GM 12616646) $46.58
Timing chain (GM 12646386) $33.93
Camshaft sprocket (GM 12576407) $28.47
Crankshaft sprocket (GM 12556582) $21.02
Rocker arm (GM 10214664) $10.38
Push rod (GM 10238852) $14.12
Valve stem seal set (Fel-Pro SS71039) $25.00
Head gasket set (Fel-Pro HS26190PT2) $165.79
Head bolt set (Fel-Pro ES72220) $21.99
Timing Set (CLOYES C3220) $31.79
Camshaft bearing set (Clevite SH2125S) $24.79
VLOM (Valve lifter oil manifold) GM 12580901 $311.20 (already sourced NOS)
Driver side rocker cover to fix possible PCV issue

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

BTW, my engine sounds exactly like the 5.3 in this Sierra:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt4ZzbqtC3g

My #1 lifter is collapsed like in this video (not the same truck as the Sierra above), although there is less play in the rocker arm:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8BQ4kHA-wI

jimmyjam

Nov 18, 2011