4L60E Question

Gunner

Original poster
Jan 23, 2019
Minnesota
Needs rebuild I guess....but what would cause the tranny to work for a couple hundred feet when cold/fresh start, and then just spin as if in neutral until it sits for a couple hours, engine off???

JayArr

Sep 24, 2018
Mission BC Canada
Well, since it comes back to life later I'd say clutches and bands. If sunshells or gears were broken you'd have a hard fault. I'm no expert though, I just started reading and watching videos on the 4L60E a month ago when mine went.

gmcman

Dec 12, 2011
Sounds like it could be low fluid or a clogged filter. Doesn't mean that there's more internal issues, but what's the service history of the trans? Fluid color?

Have you noticed any driveability issues before this happened?

I would drop the pan and change the filter, replace the fluid from the pan with fresh fluid, Valvoline Max Life is good stuff.

Make sure you get a deep pan filter.

Not knowing anything else, that's where I would start.

Reactions: mrrsm and Gunner

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Probably just like the engine, the fluid is thicker when cold and producing higher pressure able to apply the clutches and bands until it's warm and loses pressure. As suggested, drop the pan and check/replace the fluid and filter.

Reactions: Gunner

Reprise

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jul 22, 2015
See if you can get more (or any) forward movement in 3-2-1. If you can start out in 1st, shift up manually at the speed / RPM close to what would be normal, in D.

Also, see if you can hold 1st, *without* shifting (you might want to try this, first). Don't let it rev to the moon in 1st; just see if it'll continue to hold it (e.g.; limit your speed so that the tach doesn't move too much past 2000 rpm or so)

If I were to guess, based on your info, I'd go with clutch packs, or perhaps a forward sprag issue. Either means a rebuild / replace.