4.2 Head Gasket?

Justin_kyllo

Original poster
Feb 19, 2014
Had some milky residue contained within my air intake tube coming from what I assume to be the pcv valve. I then opened the oil cap to find the same buttery substance on the inside of the cap. Granted I bought this '07 Trailblazer for cheap from what I consider a second father to me, so I am not too worried about cost of repairs, I am a manager at Autozone so parts are not bad and I can do labor with the mechanics I have come to know while working there, but I digress. Naturally I got a compression tester and checked the compression in the cylinders. Cylinders 1-3 had a compression of 165, cylinder 4 had a compression of 200. Due to the lack of short extensions I could not get to the rear cylinders. I already know that the compression average is 210, minimum 150, and varience of 10%. I am just wondering, if Head gasket is bad how can the cylinders be within the accepted compression yet still pull anifreeze? New to this site, btw and I absolutely love being a GM guy now because of this site.

triz

Apr 22, 2013
Actually if they are over the 10% they are not within specs. Your running at about 20% over the recommended variance between cylinders. 200/165. On the 4.2 there is a PCV valve but its not serviceable per say. Did you check the oil to confirm?

Justin_kyllo

Original poster
Feb 19, 2014
I confirmed, the the top end has some milky residue, unsure how much until I pull the valve cover off. I can also see traces of buttery residue on the dipstick but not a lot. It has 185000 miles on it so I knew something like this was going to happen. Will replace all gaskets, timing stuff, head bolts, cam actuator, and the normal stuff. Any hints or suggestions or cautions on what to look out for?

Justin_kyllo

Original poster
Feb 19, 2014