NEED HELP Swapping struts to old coil spring

kembag

Original poster
Aug 21, 2023
Ohio
Hello I made a post already on trailvoy with details and photos. Most of which you don't need to read. I just have an issue replacing factory coils with an aftermarket strut Bilstein 4600.

My main concern currently is compressing the black spring. I can compress it to where the strut will fit bottom to top, but the new mount needs more compression to be flush and allow me to tighten the nut and washer. However this is my first time compressing a coil spring and it's obviously dangerous but if I continue to compress the spring itself will bottom out against the safety pins.

What should I do? Try again and compress until it's closer to bottoming out?

if I compress the spring and the coils touch that's the most dangerous point correct? but for my purposes I'm very close to getting the new strut mount centered just need a little more compression... I was going to rent another pair of spring compressors and also work in an enclosure.

Other than that I don't know what to do.

Any help is greatly appreciated. There's more photos and text on the linked post. And yes I just bought preloaded assembly to skip this process, but I did want to give it one more go as safely as possible.

Attachments

• 2023-08-14-16-19-13-092.jpg
    2023-08-14-16-19-13-092.jpg
    841 KB · Views: 4
  • 2023-08-19-23-21-57-624.jpg
    2023-08-19-23-21-57-624.jpg
    600.8 KB · Views: 4

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area
Welcome to GMT Nation...

Check Out "The Roadie" 's Post(s) in THIS Thread First...