No crank no start please help

jasonwfryling

Original poster
Aug 19, 2023
Bremerton
Gonna make this short and sweet I've got an 04 trailblazer lt with the inline 6 I just replaced the flywheel battery water pump spark plugs and did an oil change it has 215000 on it I've replaced the transmission it's got a 1000 wat sub system my problem is it won't run I've tried everything when I turn my key into the on position all the lights everything comes on just fine but when I turn the key to crank everything just dies and won't come back unless I wait a couple hours no crank nothin I've checked the main battery fuse I don't wanna scrap her but she making me lose it when I replaced the transmission it developed this horrible fast knock no not engine knock something coming from the flywheel I think it somehow hits on the starter I've hooked my code reader up to it and the only codes it's throwing is for my emissions systems monitors every one please help I'm no real mechanic ive taught myself pretty much all I know now

azswiss

May 23, 2021
Tempe, AZ
First guess would be a damaged starter. Any burning smell or electrical arcing sounds? Is the battery fully charged? Is it throwing actual codes (if so, which) or is it saying the emissions readiness monitors are incomplete (which would happen if the battery dies).

Try this test: with the battery fully charged, remove the starter relay and try cranking. If the starter is bad the lights will stay on and nothing dies.

If it is the starter then you will need to determine why/how (e.g. damaged flex plate) the starter became damaged.

Tony's_04

Jul 22, 2023
Michigan
Not to sound too simplistic but have you looked into the possibility of a dead battery?

Otherwise, as mentioned in the previous post, I would suspect the starter. If you have a vice, clamp in carefully and bench test it.

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON

I would check the battery, all fuses and then the ignition switch.