Lost all gears while driving

Mr-Jack

Original poster
Jan 23, 2018
WA State
New to this site but not GM forums in general...I recently retired from the military and now work in construction. I've been an aircraft mechanic for 20 years. I have 8 years experience as a diesel mechanic, and I've been a gear head all my life...one of my main areas of expertise are "NOT" automatic transmissions. I can replace, modify valve bodies, flush, and other minor maintenance, but have not rebuilt an automatic transmission before. (Manual transmissions are a different story).

So...coming home from the DOL and was coasting for a little bit and when I went to accelerate, had power, but lost all gears and just hi-revved. wouldn't go in any forward or reverse gears. Tried selecting 4wH/L and nothing. had to have my wife pull me home with my 1 ton.

The truck I'm referring to is an 01 2500hd Silverado CCLB 4x4. 6.0 w/4l80e

A little history, a year and a half ago my wife overheated the tranny and I had to replace it. Found a salvage yard transmission for a reasonable price and threw it in over a weekend and everything worked fine...until now.

It wasn't slipping or anything up until this newer transmission took a dump...just gave up. I tried letting it sit overnight and start it up to pull it in the shop, but that's not happening...it won't budge. On that same note, when you start the truck now and put it in gear, it makes a grinding noise...that grinding noise gets worse when you put it in neutral or park. Also...it holds in park so fairly certain the transfer case isn't the problem. Once it warms up here, I'll pull it into the shop and try a few things to see if I can save a grand or so on a new remanufactured tranny.

My plans are to pull the pan and filter...Inspect that, flush the cooler/radiator/lines out...I guess in that process, I can eliminate if the pump went bad or not. Other than that and pulling the case apart to see what let loose...do any of y'all have any suggestions?