Yep, another 4wd thread...with a twist

Gix1k4

Original poster
Feb 9, 2014
First, let me say great site. Have been a member at TV for about a year now, but just joined up here.

Ok, on to the dilemma.

My g/f bought a 2007 TB LT 4.2 last year. The previous owner told us that it "just needs the actuator on the front for the 4wd to work". I used to work in the auto repair trade, so I wasn't too concerned about doing the work. Long story short, I bought an actuator and installed it. No change.

I also noticed the battery light was dimly lit whenever the truck was running. In the process of troubleshooting that problem, I found that the previous owner had disassembled the cluster and removed the LED for the Service 4wd light. (I love unscrupulous people)

After much head scratching and trips to the wrecking yard for an Encoder motor, 2005 TCCM, 4wd switch and an ignition switch, I pulled the transfer case and disassembled it to find shrapnel inside from the clutch pack. I got a low mile, used transfer case and installed it. Everything was great....for awhile.

A few weeks ago the g/f mentioned that it seemed like her TB was all over the place in the snow. I drove it and discovered that, again the 4wd was not working. I jacked it up and followed the flow chart on the thread and figured that the axle disconnect was the problem. Back to the wreckers where I removed 2 disconnects for $125, I broke the first one, and successfully got the 2nd one off. I didn't just swap them, I ordered a new fork, bearings and seals and rebuilt it from the 2 I had.

I reinstalled it yesterday, with no change, still no 4wd. However, I can use a long screwdriver to engage the axle, but I have to push on the fork really hard, harder than I think the actuator is able to. Are Dorman actuators known to be weak, or are they generally good units?