NEED HELP Wiring additional 12V Sockets

RTTBLT1

Original poster
Jan 25, 2016
Louisburg, KS
Hello everyone.

Looking to wire up a few additional 12V Sockets/Outlets in the front and rear to a key switched 12V supply. Possibly one or both of a duel or triple Socket style. But as some of you may know I'm not good with electrical :hopeless:. Want to do this safely...so that's why I'm here to ask first.

Questions...
1. Can I tap into a existing 12V supply from say the Ignition Switch Orange (hot in Run only) or Brown (hot in Accy & Run) wires for front?...and maybe drivers side Vent Window Motor/Actuator in the rear?

2. Or should I use a Add-A-fuse or Fuse Tap on a switched circuit in one of the Fuse Boxes?

3. If the first option...would I need to purchase and install a In-line Fuse for each Socket to protect the equipment/devices?

I would Splice into the existing 12V/Cig Sockets but didn't want to have to plug/unplug the equipment/devices every time I enter/exit the vehicle! So...ya.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as always.

Hope everyone is having a safe and great weekend!

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
What kinda goodies will you be running? (just cuz I'm curious and nosey) You could go the Add-a-fuse route, that way you're adding your in-line fuse protection.

Another option would be to tap into a hot wire, run it through a relay, and have the relay triggered by the ignition switch, or some other circuit that is only on with the key.

It really comes down to how much current you'll need to be pulling through your circuit(s) at any given time. If it's a little here and there, piggy backing on other circuits can work fine. Once you start demanding a little more from the setup, running through a relay becomes a better idea.

RTTBLT1

Original poster
Jan 25, 2016
Louisburg, KS