use key in door lock and set off alarm?

00jeepxj

Original poster
Nov 23, 2018
michigan
Greeting all! I am wondering if some of you wise folk can point me in the right direction to fixing this issue. I have a 2003 trailblazer ls with the auto 4wd system and when I put my key into the driver door lock it will set off the factory alarm system. If I use the key fob it works just fine and doesn't set off the factory alarm. I am new to having a vehicle with this much electronics in it as my jeep has power mirrors as it's only option and just one computer for the whole thing. Any guidance to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.
Thanks!

Drec

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jan 29, 2018
Yakima, Washington
I don’t have an answer to your problem, but see the same issue with my Envoy sometimes. It happens about 1 out of 10 times with my car. I just use the FOB to shut off the alarm.

00jeepxj

Original poster
Nov 23, 2018
michigan
glad to know that i am not the only one. It happens all the time with mine. I am at a loss as to how it would set off the alarm unless there is supposed to be some kind of a sensor that is attached to the lock itself that i don't know about. When I did pull the door panel off to find a strange clunk ( honest to god it was a flashlight on the brace going across the door) I looked and didn't see any kind of a loose wire or a place for a wire to attach to on the lock cylinder.

Drec

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jan 29, 2018
Yakima, Washington
I stopped using the FOB after having another problem with mine; which I mention on another thread. I would use the FOB to lock the car, then I’d go out and the car appeared to be dead. I’d open the car with a key and then the key wouldn’t come back out of the ignition. I’d disconnect the battery and everything would reset and work correctly.

Chickenhawk

Dec 6, 2011
Replace the drivers side door lock actuator. AC Delco 11P4.