upper and lower ball joints and sway bar links

will5857

Original poster
Sep 2, 2014
Hey Everyone. I'll start off by saying I have limited knowledge. I have bad front sway bar links, took it to a mechanic and he said the upper and lower ball joints had play as well and needed to be replaced. He was going to charge around 2500 for it all. My question is, is it risky to keep driving with bad joints? Any risk of the wheel falling off? I have about 112,000 miles on them. I have a friend who can help me replace everything but not for a couple months or so.

Thanks!

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
Jack it up and grab the tire at top and bottom and see how much play is in them. They can fail and do some nasty damage, but have to usually be awful for a bit first. If the play is minimal you can likely get by but will have some extra tire wear. I would think a mechanic would be more around $500 reasonably and its $100 if you can do it yourself or maybe look for a member in your area to help and you can learn some.

djthumper

Administrator
Nov 20, 2011
North Las Vegas
You have limited knowledge but how mechanically inclined are you? If there is someone in your area that can help sooner it may help keep the costs down more. If you have the tools just get the book and do it yourself.

SnowBlazer

Jun 9, 2014
Colorado Springs
I did the UBJ's with the help of two of my buddies. Took us about four hours (not including a Little Caesars pizza break) mainly because we were not sure what to do.... Follow this video, it shows how to do everything to the "T".

http://youtu.be/l3SJwitttwo

Reactions: Sib

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Like the others said, depends on how worn they are. $2500 seems way too steep for me. Did you go to a dealer? I would go to other independent shops to get more estimates.

blautens

Jan 2, 2013