Transmission coolant temperature, gauges and data

GarbeVic

Original poster
Dec 21, 2011
I copied information from several of my postings on the TrailVoy site into this new thread because I think the information will be useful to anyone towing a trailer.

The idea of using a code readout device (like the ScanGaugeII) to see the tranmission temperature is a very good idea, and should be considered before going to the trouble of installing a gauge. The ScanGaugeIIis also multi-purpose, reads codes and shows lots of data values..

But since I did not know about the ScanGaugeII 5 years ago, I put in a gauge. In case you (or others) are thinking of that, here are two pics of the transmission temperature gauge I mounted on my dashboard. I used sticky-back velcro so the annual inspection mechanic could move the gauge to get at the stickers. It does not look bad, IMO (but then, I'm an engineer with a function-over-form mindset :smile:.

View attachment 17361

View attachment 17360

I placed the sensor in the OUTGOING line TO the radiator. Did not have an aftermarket cooler at the time (I do now). Tow a camping trailer in summer, seldom get temp.s in the yellow (that's about 220 degF going TO the radiator). this year I changed all 12 or so quarts of fluid; plan to do that every 2 years.

The first two photos above show the gauge installation on the dashboard. The second two photos below show the hookup in the transmission cooling line. I chose to put the sensor in the HOT line going TO the transmission because I wanted to see the highest temperatures that the fluid experiences. These photos were taken about 3000 miles after re-doing the lines. (I had the cooling line rust through problem, separate threads about that issue.)

View attachment 17362

View attachment 17363

Photos show how poorly compression fittings do in this application. (It came with the gauge kit.) If it gets any messier, I will look for a better way...