Towing, CELs & Kitten Farts

tripn4days

Original poster
May 22, 2014
Hi everybody. New to this forum but was kindly referred here by the "archive forum" over at trailvoy. Regardless, I've found your forums very helpful and interesting! Thank you for all the effort & hard work that undoubtedly goes into making them great! REALLY REALLY nice landing/home page too BTW :smile:

Now for some head scratching...

Never really tried to “haul” anything with my truck until now, but I more or less sought out a V8 (which is quite hard to find in a mid-size SUV!) solely for the purpose hauling my car to the track and back. I'm new to US vehicles and trucks/SUV's in particular, so pardon any noobish questions, but did some searching in the forums regarding my situation only to find that each similar issue I came across was actually slightly different… So perhaps to add to the confusion, but hopefully not, here it goes:

TRUCK: 2008 Envoy Denali 5.3L 4WD with 3.42 rear end. 120xxx miles with new spark plugs and complete trans fluid change out 3k ago. Never had a problem with her till now

SITUATION: Hauling 4600lbs load on double axle trailer. 2400lbs car on a 2200lbs inertia brake trailer across very flat land.

HOW IT HAPPENED:

Loaded car up and headed out of town. Truck pulled car no problem, brakes seemed sufficient. Made it about 2 miles from home @ 35mph (1 mile flat followed by 1 mile slight downhill grade) to stop light. Suddenly truck began running really rough and lacked power. YIKES! Turned around and went back home. About 3 miles into my 4 mile round trip, the CEL popped on. Few moments later it started blinking. Engine still spitting and sputtering but pulled trailer okay. Drove home slowly @ ~25mph. Despite CEL blinking, no messages on digital odo readout. I even searched through all the menus looking for some sort of indication about what was up.

Backed truck into driveway, shut down and rechecked all fluids—everything normal