The Search for New Tire

advcomp2019

Original poster
Feb 26, 2016
iowa
I have been researching for months about getting new tires for the 2002 Envoy since it looks like they are getting to their end of life. There is not very many good all season tires. That is why I was looking at all terrain tires, too. It is just very hard to pick for this SUV.

I have been looking at the General Grabber HTS since they are on it right now, but looks like they was replace by the General Grabber HTS60. Then I was looking at the General Grabber STX at Wal-Mart, but I have never had good luck with Wal-Mart only tires. Then I was looking at the Firestone Winterforce for winter only, then I have to get another set of rims. Then a friend said to get to Hankook Dynapro AT-M's, but they do not look like a good snow tire in my opinion.

I just need help picking or deciding. I am even open to other tires. I just need a tire that is good all season, but really good in snow and once in a while mud. Plus I might be towing a trailer at times.

Sparky

Dec 4, 2011
I had Firestone Destination AT on my Trailblazer, they did pretty good in everything and didn't break the bank either. That really was the only tire I used on my TB for the time I had it (ignoring the worn out Kelly tires it had when I first bought it).

littleblazer

Jul 6, 2014
I've got the dynapro HTS on mine and they do well. Snow traction is decent but they are a good/better wet dry tire than in snow.

Reprise

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jul 22, 2015
Another vote for the Firestones... I have the Destination LE2 (on-road version of the AT). Since you're indicating some off-road / mud usage, I'd get the AT version, like Sparky has / recommended. It's even better in the wet / snow than the LE2s - the only penalty is that it's a little bit more noisy on dry pavement.

Firestone often advertises a 'buy 3 / 1 free' on these. Try and get that pricing, if you can.

Sparky

Dec 4, 2011