NEED HELP replacing rear door upper brake light fairing on 2003 trailblazer

Mektek

May 2, 2017
FL
What problems do you have? I had to remove it, repair broken threaded inserts and generally reinforce it as it was cracking. Poorly made part IMHO......

unclebobbin

Original poster
Have to remove it and either replace it or install a another one. Looks like a support on the drivers side has broken off. Fairing cracked horizontally at top where it pinched against roof. I was hoping to just fix or replace the bracket as the damage is minor and not visible. Looks like there is 4 torx screws holding it. Any advice is appreciated I am not a mechanic but no one can send me for a left handed crescent wrench either.

Reprise

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jul 22, 2015
(FYI - OP's profile indicates he has the LWB, so he's most likely referring to the liftgate spoiler)

When I got mine, someone had used wire to reattach the plastic to the bracket on the one side (which, of course, I didn't notice until the wind nearly blew off the panel, at speed).

A plastic weld might (?) help; as I recall, you don't have a lot of 'meat' to work with (either in height of the post, or in diameter). I wound up replacing mine with an entire rear window assembly that I got used, with the spoiler intact -- it was actually cheaper, and my '03 had a black-colored spoiler to start with, so I didn't have to worry about color matching the replacement (IOW, I think they were all black, at least for the 1st year or two).

One word of advice, since the OP does get some snow on occasion...
Never, EVER use the liftgate with any snow / ice on the roof around the spoiler area. Or you'll be repairing / replacing it again. The larger space underneath the spoiler allows snow / ice to accumulate there (or melt into there), and when you use the liftgate / open the hatch window... CRRRAAAKKK :Banghead: