Rebuilding motor

07TrailyLS

Original poster
May 7, 2014
Toledo ohio
Hey guys! My work truck my company gave me (2013 Silverado 5.3) just had its engine pulled because the lifter took a shit. (AFM at its best). Well. They let me have the motor they pulled. It’s sitting in my garage and I’m getting ready to tear it down. I honestly doubt there is any metal in the pan from the lifter pounding against the cam since it only did it for less than 15 minutes of driving before it went to the shop. Anyway, I’d like to rebuild this entire motor and put it into hopefully an old s10 or something I can pick up cheap. I would try to get 500 horsepower out of this motor but with the spur of the moment it was offered to me, I have no previous knowledge of this specific 5.3 other than it’s LS based. So where should I start with the rebuild process? I’m trying to get a plan going I guess. Sorry for being so vague.

Reactions: Capote

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
Check out sloppy mechanics on YouTube. He takes junkyard LS motors and build them with junkyard parts and makes stupid power (turbo, ethanol) in an s10. Only new parts are usually cam/springs/injectors. Dude reuses almost every gasket and pushes to the max and they hold well impressively.

My current inspiration and teacher for my new-to-me 03 Silverado haha.

Reactions: Mooseman and Capote

07TrailyLS

Original poster
May 7, 2014
Toledo ohio
Will do man! Thanks

Reactions: Capote

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area
To get a Bird's Eye View of how this gets done... Sit back with a KuppaJoe... and watch these two intrepid young mechanics perform their "500 HP Budget Build" in stages on a Youtube Series. What is cool about these vidz is that you get to see and hear the motor performing a lot after the Engine Installation:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=500+hp+budget+build

Reactions: Redbeard

07TrailyLS

Original poster
May 7, 2014
Toledo ohio