Random Flashing CEL

littleblazer

Original poster
Jul 6, 2014
Hey guys, as a lot of you know I have been chasing down a random stall out issue for the last 2 years or so on the truck and it has gotten progressively worse as time has gone on. See that thread here. I have tested everything I can to no avail and checked what I can with the data logging on the tech II still with no hard evidence of anything, well... crapping out. It still only stalls in the summer when it is hot out but it used to only be once or twice a year in the beginning. It then went to once a month then to almost a daily occurrence at some points and I couldn't catch it. Whenever I had the tool logging it behaved. Even when I could duplicate the issue 3 times in a row when plugging in the tech 2 it would behave. It was at the point where I could start the truck walk in a backyard and come back out to it not running. It would just die idling. The easiest way to get it to do it is a decently hard acceleration on a hot day to around 55 followed by a coast to a stoplight and then sitting there at an idle for a few minutes. That is the most consistent duplication I can create. And it always happens as the light turns green lol. I am restating a lot of what is in that other thread but some new issues have arisen.