Not the standard shift cable problem

Tinker

Original poster
Aug 26, 2021
Southern Ontario
I've been hunting since I bought my 2007 Trailblazer last weekend.

Every answer I find for shift problems either tells me to replace the bushing(s) which are in perfect condition or to replace the whole cable.

Thing is...

The bushings are perfect & the cable is fine except for a weird mistake made by a previous owner.

The grey plastic clip that holds the adjustment seems to have been completely removed.

Does anybody know of a source for a replacement? Or, am I going to have to get a complete cable?

I really like my new truck, but someone who previously worked on it needs a few beatings.

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area
Welcome to GMT Nation...

Take some images of what you have going on down there and Post them back here so we can all figure out What is missing from Where.

Note:

In all 'Bicycle Hand Brake Style Cable and Tube' Designs... the Outer Cable Housing Tube MUST be Held FAST where it meets BOTH Tube End Brackets or the Force being applied by the Shift Lever on the One End cannot have any affect upon the Transmission PRND123 Shifter Pawl on the Other End.

If it comes down to cases... and you must replace this Shifter Cable... THIS is one of the Better R&R Videos:

Last edited:

Tinker

Original poster
Aug 26, 2021
Southern Ontario
I'll have to run her back up on the ramps to get pics.

But from a picture off Amazon, it's the grey tab on the left that's missing.

Attachments

• Screenshot from 2021-08-29 17-50-51.png
    Screenshot from 2021-08-29 17-50-51.png
    44.3 KB · Views: 8
Reactions: mrrsm

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area