Newbie with 2005 Envoy XL 5.3

Joel Phelps

Original poster
Oct 6, 2017
Alabama
Hey guys, newbie here. A few weeks ago I picked up a 2005 Envoy XL, 5.3l 4x4. Had 100,350 miles on it. Thought it was a pretty good deal. Now I am hesitant to make that claim. I like this thing, BUT, its going to be the death of me.

Week 1, battery died. No biggy. It was the original.
Week 2, started noticing my rpms jumping at cruising speeds, bad torque converter. Well that wasn't cheap
Week 3, day 2 after getting back from TC replacement. Getting a slight hesitation at cruising speeds. Also similar to what I was feeling with the bad TC. Took it back in and no codes. They recommended new plugs wires etc.
Week 4, officially started this last Saturday. I pulled it into the garage with a backseat full of new parts, and a lofty expectation this wouldn't take to much and we would get this done....

SO..... A number of hours later (wont disclose actual hours as is slightly embarrassing but did include a trip back to autozone for 2 more spark plugs after some ummm...fell...) SO, plugs and wires changed, MAF cleaned, Throttle body cleaned (lord it was bad), new air filter, oil change, and was going to be a new fuel filter till I spent half an hour looking for the damn thing only to realize mine is a model that has it integrated inside the fuel tank......

Did some slight low to no cost cosmetic changes to the outside while I was at it and yesterday morning took it out and to see how she ran.... And you could tell the difference. Smooth as silk idle and acceleration, a noticeable gain in restored HP, and after 20 minutes of driving, IT STILL HAD THE FREAKING HESITATION/MISS/WHAT THE CRAP IS THIS THING DOING?!?!?

SO...