New to the Trailblazer, a few questions....

TishomingoSith

Original poster
Sep 7, 2015
I bought a 04 XLT 4x4 which is in near-mint condition. I say near because there is no roof rack on top of it, which brings me to my first question... do I have to get a factory roof rack for any of the after market racks to work (like Baja)? I didn't know if they made one that would bolt directly to my roof and bypassing the old roof rack. If not, suggestions on fiding one that is used?

Second question; lift or brush guard first?

I LOVE the bumper brush guard that "Super Moderator" has posted on this page, looks like a custom steel bumper with the brush guard coming out of it. I have no idea where to find one like that.

I plan on lifting it, but would it really just need a 'leveling' job with the front tires? Lift the front and leave the back alone, just add off road tires.

So you have a blank slate... just need suggestions on how to turn it into a great off-roader. NOTE: I am a poor grad student so I gotta do things slowly :smile:

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    76.1 KB · Views: 29
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    72.3 KB · Views: 29
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 28

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Welcome to the Nation! :tiphat:

Looks like it was deracked like I did with my TB EXT. Are there any screw holes on the roof at all? I had mine all pounded in and filled. In the front, there are two large bumps for the front rack mount screws. I don't see any on yours neither. If that's the case, the stock rack may be out of the question or you would have to dig out and "unpound" the mounts and screw holes.

For aftermarket, there may be something available but you'll likely have to mount it directly to the roof. Another option would be to build one yourself.

I'm not familiar with brushguards. "Super Moderator" is our title, not our user name, like my user name is Mooseman. Do you mean, by chance, Hardtrailz?

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011