Low/no brake fluid to rear brakes

Maverick6587

Original poster
Dec 16, 2018
Sterling Heights, Michigan
I was bleeding the brakes and flushing the system to clear out the brake fluid, it was a dark green color. After bleeding the brakes the pedal is softer now than before we bled the brakes.

I found out why the reservoir cap wouldn't tighten. It was missing the gasket/seal for the reservoir cap. Cheap and easy fix.

While attempting to bleed the rear brakes by letting there fluid flow. There was almost no flow coming out of the bleeder screw. Even when I had my dad put pressure on the brake pedal, there was almost no flow at all. We had full flow coming from the front brakes. Both rear had almost no flow though.

I'm thinking that either the master cylinder is plugged or more likely the ABS module is plugged?

I have a spare master cylinder I plan to bleed and install.

Can we put air pressure into the ABS module to try to clear the lines? If I have to swap out the ABS module from the junkyard from there exact year before, does that have to be programmed (is it VIN coded or just vehicle specific)?

I'd we remove/unplug the ABS module, do we need to bleed the brakes using the Tech 2?

Attachments

• IMG_20200104_195544.jpg
    IMG_20200104_195544.jpg
    222.7 KB · Views: 2

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Have you tried loosening the brake hose from the caliper? Could be the bleeder is plugged. I've seen that before. Since you already have the new MC, might be worth it to just install it to eliminate that as the source.

Reactions: mrrsm

Maverick6587

Original poster
Dec 16, 2018
I unplugged the left rear hose from the caliper and there was almost no fluid coming out even with pedal pressure.

We're swapping out the master cylinder right now. Working on bench bleeding it right now.

Is there a reset button for the ABS module? A guy at AZ said there's a reset button, for when ABS detects a low/no fluid to the rear.