iPhone Charger LED Draw

Up And Down

Original poster
Oct 25, 2012
I just bought a Kensington PowerBolt Micro car charger for my iPhone. Here is a link to the product http://www.kensington.com/kensington/us/us/p/1411/K39224US/powerbolt™-micro-car-charger.aspx The question that I have is about the amperage draw of the LED on the charger. As you know, the 2 front 12V receptacles are constantly powered even with the truck off. This leaves the LED on the charger illuminated even while the truck is parked for sometimes a few days at a time. Will the amperage draw of this LED be enough to drain the battery? The reason I ask is because the charger is very small and sits nearly flush in the receptacle so removing it every time I leave the car would be a hassle. Thanks in advance for any information.

xOgrex

Sep 17, 2012
I'm no electrical engineer or anything but I thought the whole point of LED lights was that they are more energy efficient. I don't think it would be a problem, but if you're worried about it and can return it, I'd recommend the Griffin Powerjolt Dual Universal USB Micro. Like yours, they go in flush. No LED to draw power when the vehicle is not running or distract you at night, and an extra USB port for another device. Each port puts out 1 amp so it chargers your phone as fast (if not faster) than a wall outlet and there are photos/instructions on Amazon about how to hack it so that one port can output 2 amps (which happens to be enough to charge an iPad). I have had 2 for a few months now and they both work great.

Hypnotoad

Dec 5, 2011
I leave mine in all the time and never had a problem, even after leaving sit for a week. I've got a cheap ass ebay charger that has an obnoxiously bright LED. I'm sure you'll be fine leaving it in.

AV8ER

Apr 19, 2012