HOW TO: Nexus 7 Dash Install

DDonnie

Original poster
Mar 26, 2012
This will be the final thread for the install instructions. I decided I don't want this to be an article because it's possible that the instructions may need to be updated down the line at some point.

Disclaimer: I am not an electrical engineer, the instructions below reflect exactly what I have done in my own vehicle and it has not caught on fire. This does not mean that yours will not! I will not be held responsible for anything that you do to your vehicle or your tablet or anything else for that matter

Before I begin, I want to make it known that I did not come up with any of this on my own. Everything that I have put together I have done so by reading what others have done and using trial and error to get the setup that I wanted. Much of this mod was inspired by Kuchar09. This mod wouldn't be possible at all without the android developer Timur and his USB rom for the nexus 7, which allows the device to charge and run USB devices at the same time. Please read this thread from start to finish before attempting this mod, to make sure that this is something you are confident you can do. If you need any help with any part of the process, feel free to PM me and I will see what i can do to assist. Also, feel free to take this information and use it however you wish. Yours doesnt have to look exactly like mine :biggrin:. This is not the only way to do it, this is just how I did it.

Difficulty: Moderate to Hard, requires basic understanding of 12v wiring and moderate understanding of the android operating system. Also requires some soldering skills.

Estimated time: It's not quick. I did all of mine piece by piece over the course of a few months because i had to buy things as I went due to budget restraints. I think if you dedicated a Saturday to it, you would probably be good to go.

Parts list/costs:

Nexus 7 Tablet: $200
Stereo with aux in: $100
USB Hub: $10
USB Extension Cable: $5