Help me choose a TrailVoy! :)

polarisn1

Original poster
Apr 19, 2014
Hi Everyone. I am brand new to this site, but not to online forums. I have been a longtime member of some Camaro and Firebird forums (Since I have a 95 bird that nothing is stock on it anymore). Anyway, I know the unlimited knowledge that is available from other enthusiasts. So, I thought I would come here since I am looking to buy a TrailVoy.
smile.gif.pagespeed.ce.J4lf1ahEI7.gif

Background: Im looking to get a TrailVoy after many years of schooling (I have my MBA now, and student loans suck.) I have a 98 bonneville that has served me well, but now it is time to sell her and get a vehicle that can tow my toys. I work for a large "Big Boy Toy" manufacturer now, and Im ready to start collecting toys again. As I do, I will need to haul them occasionally. Hence my need for the TrailVoy. I used to work for a GM dealership for 10+ years, so I know the TrailVoy is a solid platform. I know that there are some issues, like the 4.2L exhaust manifolds cracking, and the 5.3L DoD piston rings gumming up. But it has honestly been so long since I worked there that I dont remember everything, and hence why I am coming here to ask for help!
wink.gif.pagespeed.ce.ghlfFXOmmD.gif

So, I want a TrailVoy. Lets look at the must-haves:

I want good commuter gas mileage
I dont want all wheel drive, but I do want 4x4
I want the ability to two a two place snowmobile trailer without issues

So far, my research tells me that the 5.3 gets pretty close to the same mpg as the 4.2, with the benefit of towing with ease.

Can people help me really understand what a 4x4 will get mpg with each motor? Im looking to see differences really at 60mph, 70mph, and 75mph.

What gears are better suited with which motor for mpg and towing? Does 3.73 hurt the mpg over 3.42?

What model years had the better motors? I think the 2006 had more hp in the 4.2, but outside of that I have no clue.